Because I Only Live Once…

3 Dec

Kittymama Inquirer graphicI wasn’t going to post this but A♥ encouraged me to. I’ve never been one to blow my own horn or bring my own pedestal or magbuhat ng sariling bangko (a Filipino idiom which translates literally to “lifting my own bench”). That’s never been my style. Still, we all live only once and you’ve got to take happiness where you find it. And sometimes, it isn’t just in the big things but also in the little things that add up to make it even more worthwhile.

Let me tell you how I found out.

One Saturday morning, on the way to the salon for a quick hair fix, I got a message via Facebook. Here is what it said.

Kittymama Inquirer notification

I blurred my friend’s name and certain details from our FB message so as not to give her identity away. But this message, coming from one of the most popular, most accomplished, and most distinguished members of my Pisay class was really what made my day. 🙂

And then, because I couldn’t find a newspaper late in the day anymore, someone else sent me pictures via email! Yay!

Kittymama Inquirer 01

It feels great to be recognized for the little that I do. And as wonderful as it was to find a little photo of myself in a national paper, it feels even more gratifying to be noticed and validated by friends and people who love and care for me. I actually read that very same paper at Starbucks Megamall that morning and I didn’t even notice me! What were the odds someone else would?

Kittymama Inquirer 03

Hmmm…. Top Hello Kitty blogger *blushes*…. I can definitely drink the Kool-Aid on that one. 🙂 But I think CUTE Hello Kitty blogger would have been better!

6 Responses to “Because I Only Live Once…”

  1. Just A Friend December 3, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Way to go, Kittymama! Woot woot!

    • Kittymama December 11, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      Thank you so much! 🙂

  2. Anonymous December 3, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Like. 🙂

    • Kittymama December 11, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      Thank you! 🙂

  3. beige December 3, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    wow! =)

    • Kittymama December 11, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      Thank you, Beige! Didn’t expect it either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

