Resolution

8 Jan

Most days, I run around the house like a headless chicken. When I find myself doing that, I take down a pen and a small journal and write, “I resolve to be calm and more introspective.” The next day, I find myself reading the words I wrote and asking myself, “Why did I write that? I don’t make resolutions anymore!”resolve copy

Some days, I find myself with absolutely nothing to say. I mean, how many times can I tell you what I do after the morning’s first cup of coffee? And I have, right? Told you all? Oh, yeah, as if you didn’t know I clean the bedrooms. Every single day.

Then, I take pen and paper again and write “I resolve to write even when I have nothing to say.” While I am tempted to go “Why did I write that?” again, sitting here and churning out words one after the other, I suddenly remember how good it feels to write and see thoughts form from mere words. So there. I guess you’re stuck with one resolution from me, after all.

Resolutions- they are so easy to make and even easier to break. But if there’s one thing I resolve to do, it is to keep at this blog, even on days when my life seems to be at a standstill. I know it will not be easy. Most of the time, my home is just like any other home, my life as common as any other. I don’t fly off at the spur of the moment. I don’t traipse around the world. But I live each day the best I can, with gratitude for each breath I take, as a homage to the One who created me. Perhaps, that is enough.

So as we settle into the daily routine of life, I commit to staying, to writing, to living. One word at a time. One day at a time.

8 Responses to “Resolution”

  1. Anonymous January 8, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    Glad you would still keep writing.🙂 Personally, I love your Sylvanian stories and stories about Alphonse best. Good luck for 2013!

    • Kittymama January 9, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

      Thank you! I have some new stories coming up soon, one in time for Valentine’s Day, so please watch out for it!

  2. maniladawg January 8, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

    Keep on writing. We’ll keep reading!

    • Kittymama January 9, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

      Thanks, Glenn, for being one of three readers of this blog, haha! Thanks for the support, old friend!

  3. Joshua January 9, 2013 at 6:58 am #

    I feel the same way! For the last few days I feel like I’ve had absolutely nothing to say!😦 But I love the idea of simply being grateful and resolving to write one word a time.🙂 Happy New Year, tita!

    • Kittymama January 9, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

      Happy New year, Joshua! I take inspiration from your blog, which I enjoy immensely. Your blog is the push I need to counter my inertia.🙂

  4. Madame C January 9, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    I second that! When you write it, readers will come.

    • Kittymama January 9, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

      Thanks, Madame C! I am grateful to the faithful readers who come every day, even when nothing is going on. As such, I am trying my best to fill these pages more often than I have of late. Here’s to resolutions!

Leave a Reply

