Hello Kitty and Reaching for the Stars

8 Feb
Screenshot from video of "Hello Kitty in Space"- full video below

Screenshot from video of “Hello Kitty in Space”- full video below

I don’t know about you, but in the last year or so, I’ve actually reached a plateau in my relationship with Hello Kitty. Not everything Hello Kitty makes me oohhh and aaaahhh anymore. I guess I am growing up. (And it’s about time too!)

Still, once in a while, something like this catches my fancy and makes me smile. It’s not just that it’s Hello Kitty, but it’s more of what she represents in this- a young girl’s dream and a father’s love for his child. I often think about the young girl I once was and knowing how my life was shaped by the limitless choices that were available to me, it has made me hopeful for the future of young girls everywhere.

The video is a heartwarming piece, made even more compelling by the editing and music scoring. It’s science with the human touch (and a sprinkle of kawaii cuteness). If you’re a nerd like me, you’ll definitely enjoy the breathtaking views of this small ball of life from above. And if you’re a metric nut like I am (I am sooo damaged, I know, heehee), FYI, 17.73 miles is 28.53 kilometers, roughly past the tropopause and into the shallow layer of the stratosphere.

from starryskies.com

from starryskies.com

Here is the full video of 12-year-old Lauren Rojas’ science project. I give it an A+!

One Response to “Hello Kitty and Reaching for the Stars”

  1. Just A Friend February 8, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

    I agree with the A+ and Dad deserves a “Father of the Year” award!

Leave a Reply

