Kiong Hee Huat Tsai

10 Feb

Today is the first day of Chinese Year 4711, the year of the Water Snake. This year is said to be good for those born under my sign, though forecasts by various feng shui masters have got me worrying about my health. I think the forecasts are a few months late as my health problems started late last year. Still, their cautious warnings are good reminders that today is a good day to start doing something about it.

My young friend Joshua, of Kuya’s Notebook, has a great post about his preparations for the Chinese New year.  He recommends four simple things to get ready for the big day today. I’ve taken his advice and distilled my own personal preferences into them.

One, I don’t believe in fortune tellers so I only need to do three more things.🙂

Two, I am trying to grow my hair longer so a haircut is unnecessary at this point. I do need a hair rinse later in the week to cover new gray hair.🙂

Three, and Joshua and I are in agreeement about this, I’ve cleaned the house and upped the ante by doing heavy laundry (linens and comforters) ahead of the big day.CNY underwear copy

And four, I’ve shopped…

…For new underwear!

If there’s one tradition I’ve managed to keep throughout the years, it is to don new underwear on Chinese New Year’s Day. Luckily, I got really good ones on sale at the M&S Further Reductions sale (I am cheap, yes, I am!) and though they may not be red (very auspicious, red underwear), or polka-dotted (money luck, anyone?), or red and polka-dotted (!), they are just about the comfiest stretch underwear in the world! And mind you, they are NOT granny panties! See? (You won’t be seeing the size tag, of course!)

I wrote about my family’s Chinese New Year traditions here, years ago. Not a lot has changed since then, except that everyone has gotten older and busier. In this house, at least, we keep to our simple traditions, done with less pomp and less ceremony but with  more love and prayers. The latter, perhaps, more than anything, ensures the continuity of a family’s good luck and blessings.

Happy New Year, friends! Here’s to prosperity and God’s grace in the New Year!

CNY 2013 02 copy2

3 Responses to “Kiong Hee Huat Tsai”

  1. Lyra February 15, 2013 at 3:28 am #

    I have to get those panties for Jessica. Are they sold in SM?

    • Kittymama February 15, 2013 at 11:26 am #

      Lyra, they’re available at Marks & Spencer. I’ll send you a message on Facebook about it.🙂

      • Lyra February 16, 2013 at 7:47 am #

        Oh that’s what M&S means? haha. Thanks

Leave a Reply

