Some Days

4 Mar

Some days, two hours of sleep is a blessing. When you have a full-grown child who still wets the bed, albeit occasionally, sleeplessness is often an offshoot of having to deal with an episode of enuresis. It gets worse if the child is unable to sleep again. Like last night.

Unlike most autism families, ours is different in that it’s a rare experience for us to be up on so little sleep. Sleep was never really a big problem with us, at least, not until Alphonse reached adolescence. (Puberty opened a whole can of worms, believe me.) The year he got sick, we went through another problematic phase in sleeping, sort of a hell year, if there ever was one. In the last year or so, we’ve had a few episodes here and there, but the previous years have already taught us temperance and patience, necessary virtues for the sleepless. Still, even with the best of intentions, I feel and look like a zombie today. Pasty white and lifeless. Dull. Blah.

Which probably explains why I need a whole lot of perk-me-up goodies to tide me over the day.

Goodies like these:

Clinique bonus time March 2013

It was probably a blessing that I was really low on Clinique’s Repairwear Laser Focus since last week and needed to get some more. This has been one of the most important components of my skin care regimen in the past year, aside from the three-step skin care routine. On nights when sleeplessness takes over, this has made a difference in making my skin supple and glowing. I have also suffered from some breakouts (two pimples just this year, when I’ve never had them my entire life- I blame perimenopause! Arrgghhh!!!) and they help diminish the discoloration that came with healing zits.

Thus, with Bonus Time this time of the year (from March 1 to 17 only and with limited stocks), it was the perfect time to splurge on myself and get some free gifts too- which I got last Sunday at Rustan’s Gateway. I’d like to thank Andy of the Clinique counter for being so helpful and gracious. Those- plus his lovely, perfectly mascaraed eyes- will definitely keep me coming back to Gateway for more of the good stuff. (Okay, I’ll split my time between Rustan’s Shangri-La and Gateway, heehee.)

So some days, life kicks you down a notch or two. When you live with profound autism, it does feel like most days most of the time. But days like these can be perfect days to pamper and give yourself time to feel like a whole new woman again. If I can have one perfect day, all I need would be these: my husband’s kiss(es), Alphonse’s smiles, Alex’s jokes, a tub of ice cream, and Clinique.

P.S. Just to let you know, this is NOT a paid post.🙂

2 Responses to “Some Days”

  1. New Girl March 5, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    Are the local prices for Clinique comparable to the prices in the US?

    • Kittymama March 5, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

      No. They are more expensive here, and with the recent depreciation of the US dollar, they are more affordable when purchased in the US. You have to account, however, for regional and distribution costs. Even assuming that you’d be able to buy directly from the US website, you have to account for shipping form the US to the Philippines, as well as local taxes and customs duties.

Leave a Reply

