Keep Calm and Enjoy Sylvanians

5 Mar

Which is exactly what I did when my sleep was disturbed for the second night in a row.

It was another sleepless night in our household, this time due to early morning awakening (how does 4am sound?). I don’t know what’s going on, but I need to find out why, and soon. I can’t stand any more sleepless nights, especially since I haven’t had enough sleep in the last three weeks or so. Blame my wisdom teeth and all the headaches they gave me- and good riddance to them!

This morning, Alphonse and I spent time watching videos of Disney and Pixar shorts. We had to wait till the sun came out to call on the nannies for help. Then it was their turn and I tried to get some energy back by eating breakfast. In the middle of my bowl of oatmeal, however, I fell fast asleep. I didn’t even notice it. When I woke up an hour later, my coffee had grown cold and my oatmeal was thick white sludge.

Alphonse is still up and running, even as I write this, and I still feel like a zombie. Another pick-me-up is needed, but what?

I got just the one! It’s a Sylvanian blog which I discovered in Facebook. It’s in Chinese, but for those of us who are clueless, there’s always Google Translate to add to the fun. Google Translate calls it “The Forest Family Lulu Cabin in the Forest” which, judging by how awkward it sounds, tells me right away that the translation isn’t quite spot on. Still, I invite you to visit the blog as the pictures are absolutely beautiful.

fave blog copy

I like best the series of renovation posts. It is mindblowing how detailed and how creative the work was. Not only that, it really seemed as if the little Sylvanians were hard at work. Here are the series of links which I will try to present in an orderly fashion. You can do without Translate and just rely on the pictures to tell you the story. I assure you, this is absolutely worth your time to see.

Part 1 of Renovation: http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/forest-families/article?mid=3406&next=3365&l=a&fid=15

Part 2: http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/forest-families/article?mid=3406&next=3365&l=a&fid=15

Part 3: http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/forest-families/article?mid=3473&prev=3493&next=3461&l=a&fid=15

Part 4: http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/forest-families/article?mid=3493&prev=3547&next=3473&l=a&fid=15

Part 5: http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/forest-families/article?mid=3547&prev=3600&next=3493&l=a&fid=15

Part 6: http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/forest-families/article?mid=-2&next=3547&l=a&fid=15

Part 7: http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/forest-families/article?mid=-2&next=3600&l=a&fid=15

This series is one of my favorites ever. When sleeplessness strikes again, I’ll be sure to pull them out from their bookmarks and look them over again. It’s a guaranteed perk-me-upper!

5 Responses to “Keep Calm and Enjoy Sylvanians”

  1. Anonymous March 7, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    This is wonderful!

    • Kittymama March 13, 2013 at 10:31 am #

      Thank you!

  2. Santie March 9, 2013 at 6:25 am #

    This is just what I needed today! My studies are getting the best of me and I am up at 1am trying to wind down my overstimulated brain to get some sleep… Nothing has worked yet, but the first chapter of the renovation has banished all thoughts of University tests and difficult books to memorise. Thanks for the pickup!

    • Kittymama March 13, 2013 at 10:31 am #

      I’m glad they made you happy, Santie! Keep smiling (even when school is bringing you down with all the work)!

  3. Thank you for the recommendation to theTaiwanese website – brilliant handiwork ! Beyond what I could imagine, so excited over the website pictures of renovation work and stories – I had to pull my husband over to show him while he was watching TV last evening😛

Leave a Reply

