Winners All

23 Mar

winners circle coverAfter a weekend of deliberations (judging went on Saturday at the Ban Kee office and the rest of the weekend was spent doing the Math, heehee), the winners of this year’s PH♥SF Photo Contest have been announced over at our PH♥SF Facebook page.

This year’s contest was fun (and crazy at the same time) because it dealt with the theme of movies! I was impressed at the level of dedication member-collectors showed in coming up with their submitted entries. Some made me smile, others made me oohhh and ahhh, and still there were a few that made my eyes cloud with tears. All of them, in my opinion, were winners.

If you’d like to see the whole album of pictures, head on over and click these links:

When it came to the winners, we had a hard time deciding which were the cream of the crop because honestly, they were all good! In the end, we whittled down the list to four- three local entries and one international entry. I had a few personal favorites and while some of them didn’t win (we were three judges so I only got 1/3 of the vote), I was glad for those that did.

Congratulations to all the winners of this year’s contest!

The third prize went to “The Lion and the Lamb,” by Ms. Stephanie Sumbe. This was inspired by Edward and Bella’s wedding scene in “Twilight: Breaking Dawn.” I’m not a big fan of the movie (or of the books) so I’ll take this anytime over Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson. Honestly, this is loads better!

3rd Prize framed

Second prize honors went to “The Blind Side,” by Ms. Christine Santelices, inspired by the movie of the same name. It’s a very sincere photograph that elicited a lot of warm smiles from the judges. During deliberations, one of the things they noticed about it was how heartwarming it really was.

2nd Prize framed

And the first place honors went to “Come What May” by Ms. Aileen Gayman, inspired by the elephant scene in “Moulin Rouge. Ms. Ails’ take on magical realism is breath taking, to say the least.

1st Prize framed

This year’s special prize for international entries went to Ms. Santie Meyer’s meticulous recreation of the iconic spaghetti love scene from “Lady and the Tramp.” This one has really got me lost for words. It is just… beautiful.

special prize copy

There were so many wonderful pictures to choose from, each with their own take and perspective on memorable scenes or quotes from their favorite movies. I only wish I had enough prizes to give to everyone because there were so many other good ones too.

Do check out the albums of this year’s entries! I am sure they will inspire you to do something equally creative with your collections, Sylvanian or otherwise. Happy weekend, friends!

 

2 Responses to “Winners All”

  1. Ails Realeza Gayman March 26, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    Thank you Pinky! Hubby and I really had a wonderful time playing with my Sylvanians for this photo contest. I really think that your contest is a nice way of celebrating our love for SF. I bet, everyone’s excited for next year’s theme. haha

    • Kittymama March 26, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

      I loved your “Upside Down” picture too and was torn between that and “Come What May,” Ails. What sealed this for me as a winner was listening to the song while looking at it, and bam! I was hooked!🙂

Leave a Reply

