Potty Mouth Kid

26 Mar

My eldest son Alex is on summer break starting this week. With him in the house, we expect increased electricity charges, what with the desktop and his laptop always on and his gadgets always charging. Morevoer, with the summer heat bearing on us during the day, it’s always a temptation for him to turn on the airconditioning. Yesterday, it wasn’t enough that he had two electric fans blowing air at him; he hounded me all morning to turn on the airconditioning in the family room. Ever mindful of our budget, I kept saying ‘No.”

A couple of hours later, the boy wasn’t ready to give up.

Mama: Alex, do you want to try these chocolate truffles? They’re yummy!

Alex: Only if you turn on the airconditioning. Mama, it’s hot! *grumbles*

Mama: For the nth time, son, I said NO!

Alex: (muttering under his breath) Dammit, it’s so hot!

Mama: (eyebrows rising) What did you just say?

Alex: Uhm…ehr… I said “damit!” Clothes, Mama! I really should change my shirt. (giggles softly)

Mama: ??? *mental machine whirring, processing slowly*

Alex: (whispering to himself) Good job, Alex! You got out of that one, whew!

Mama: *throws box of chocolates at son’s head*

What should I do to a potty-mouthed kid? I think I ought to keep this one handy from now on, just in case.

pottymouth copy

~0~

A Quick Lesson:

Dammit (damə̇t)- an interjection used to express irritation, contempt and anger; a contraction of “Damn it!”

Damit (dam´it)- clothing or dress in Filipino (Tagalog)

6 Responses to “Potty Mouth Kid”

  1. ManggyManggy March 26, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

    I barely uttered a foul word throughout high school, which is no small feat considering I studied at Ateneo. Now, I have a mouth that could make a sailor blush (often just used for humorous effect than anything, though). I think your approach should be in two steps: 1. stop and remember that Alex is an awesome son and brother, 2. take him aside and ask him to keep such language to a minimum- never AT you, and never in a place where it might bring into question his “breeding”! (I didn’t want to use that word, especially as it’s obvious you are an awesome mom, but I can’t really think of a close approximation in English the way we use it in Filipino.)

    • Kittymama March 26, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

      He IS an awesome son and more than anything, I find him funny, even when he was cussing. He makes me laugh a lot. But you’re right, we have talked about ground rules and we’ve agreed to them, like I don’t want him to use the F word ever (and I don’t mean Food), and he is not allowed to cuss at anyone, especially his parents. So far, this was the worst thing I’ve heard (or seen).

      It’s so easy for kids to pick up bad words these days. They’re in songs, in the Net, in what they watch in film or tv, and even in some of the books they read. Knowing him as I do, however, it’s unlikely this is going to be a habit. But I’ll keep that soap on hand, just in case.

      Thanks, Mark! Miss you and your awesome blog!

  2. Ails Realeza Gayman March 26, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    When my siblings and I were children, my parents used to rub our mouths with salt whenever we say bad words. She used to say “lalamasin ko ng asin yang bunganga mo nang luminis.” One time, I made one of my aunt’s salesladies cry because I called her “magnanakaw” and “demonyo” for hiding my Alice in Wonderland board game. My mom rubbed my mouth so hard it left a big red bruise on my cheek. At school, my teacher asked me what happened to my cheek. I didn’t answer her but I almost cried thinking about/remembering the injustice of my mom’s punishment. Keeping quiet about it probably showed that my mom’s message really got into me. After that I try my best to keep my mouth clean, until now unless I am really really mad about something.

    But that punishment is too harsh, I wouldn’t recommend it. 😀

    • Kittymama March 26, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

      That must have been awful, Ails! I would never use that, and the soap-in-the-mouth thing was just a funny threat. Even Alex found it funny. I think what’s important is to talk to the child and let the child know what he/she said was wrong. We should explain how it was hurtful. Corporal punishment only instills fear and rarely the lessons we want them to learn.

  3. MsGrnEyz April 9, 2013 at 6:11 am #

    Great save lol

  4. Svetlanna Cagasca (@svetlannac) April 19, 2013 at 3:08 am #

    This was my boyfriend’s experience:

    When he was about 6 or 8 years old, His mom heard him used the “P” word (bad word in tagalog). He didn’t know that he uttered a bad word because he frequently hears his older cousins use the P word. His mother literally scrubbed his mouth using soap (safeguard to be exact! :P) just to wash his dirty mouth! haha! :)) I find it funny but for him, it was traumatizing!

Leave a Reply

