Disclosure

12 May

I was trying to post this last week but something strange kept happening- the text kept disappearing on this post! If you noticed the post on Timelines, all I had were pictures and that was not even intentional.😦 For some reason, I kept trying to put up words and each time I saved my draft, the words disappeared. Today, I am hoping my words will stay put where they belong this time, as this next post has been waiting for quite some time.

I felt compelled to write this after I received this message in my e-mail from a certain “Jessica Rabbit”:

I visit your blog often and I’d like to ask if you were you paid or did you receive gifts and freebies to review things (your Kimmidolls, for example), food (Mr. Donut?), events and places? I feel that disclosure is necessary to make it clear to your readers if your posts are “commissioned and paid for”. Thank you.

Let me give you a direct answer to a direct question: No, I am not paid to write my reviews and I do not receive freebies or gifts to review things.

Okasaneko Chronicles is not a monetized blog, and as such, I have no sponsors and patrons. I do not carry advertising. Although the opportunities to create revenue and blog-for-pay have presented themselves quite a few times, I have not decided on taking this path yet. I pay for what I review so that means I only review things I really like and buy. Yes, I buy all my Kimmidolls. Yes, I buy my own Pon de Rings. And yes, I buy my own Clinique. No freebies.

Sometimes, however, I do get invited to special events and in such cases, I freely state that I was there by invitation. This is often the exception and not the rule, so unless I state otherwise, everything I review on this blog is paid for and mine by choice.

I blog to write, to keep my middle-aged brain going on days when the blood circulation gets seriously sluggish, and to document memories that may be lost to age. I also blog to connect with people with the same interests and passion, and that is exactly how I have found my circle of autism friends. It is also how the local Sylvanian Families community, PH Sylvanian Families, really got started.

Kittymama meme2 copy

Thank you for that question, Jessica. When I started writing this, I really didn’t feel like I had to justify anything to anyone, but now that I am done, I am glad you did. Writing this has got me thinking of what this blog means to me. There may be some days when I stand on my soapbox with tumbleweeds as my only audience, but I don’t mind. Six years of doing this have opened my world to tremendous people and wonderful experiences. When I think about the most important pay-off of blogging, and that is, making new friends, I feel like I’ve “earned” more than I have given already.

5 Responses to “Disclosure”

  1. Svetlanna (@svetlannac) May 13, 2013 at 12:18 am #

    Natawa ako sa “I buy my own Pon De Rings”. HAHA! :)) And I didn’t get the soap box(?), or that means you’re not doing anything because I see a tumbling hay there. HAHA!

    • Kittymama May 13, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      I had to put that in because the reader asked about Mr. Donut. I only wish I kept my receipt as proof, hehe. Btw, I got to try Gavino’s at Il Terrazo the other day. Will make a short review.🙂

      And the soapbox is meant to refer to someone who openly expresses an opinion, as people used to do in the olden days. They stand on a soapbox to say a speech or preach. The tumbleweeds simply mean I will keep doing what I do (which is blog on this platform) even if no one is listening. But I am grateful that I have at least one friend who comes by to visit, Svet. That would be you.🙂

      • Svetlanna Tumbleweed May 13, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

        I can’t wait for your review! I hope we have the same favorite. :p I’ll comment as soon as your review is posted.

        AYUN TUMBLEWEEDS! I forgot that term that’s why I used tumbling hay. HAHA! Oooh. Now I get it!. Ang layo lang ng guess ko ha? Nakakahiya tuloy! *facepalm*

        Aww. You’re always welcome, Kitty Mama! I just love reading your blog posts! Kapag walang bagong post, binabasa ko yung mga luma.😀

  2. Ails Realeza Gayman May 22, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    count me in! count me in! i’m one of your loyal readers!😀 hahaha ang cute ng meme mo! ❤

    • Kittymama May 22, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

      Hehe, thanks, Ails! Appreciate the support.🙂

Leave a Reply

