For Bok Choy and Broccoli

7 Jun

bokchoyandbroccoliMy friend Boots and her son Joshua of Kuya’s Notebook is launching a food blog and I wanted to give my wholehearted support for their joint project. It’s called Bok Choy and Broccoli and will feature vegetarian dishes kitchen-tested by mom Boots and approved by Josh and the whole Cobler family.

I have to say upfront, though, that I am an omnivore. As an “all-eater,” I have eaten plants, animals, algae and fungi, often without thought to how they got on my table. But Boots and Josh’s campaign to get more people eating fruits and vegetables, as opposed to meat, is a wonderful step to reducing our dependence on animal protein. I may not completely go vegetarian but I am willing to modify my diet to make it as healthy and as cruelty-free as possible.

And so this morning, I share with you this video, and anyone who has ever had second thoughts about vegetarianism will agree that this makes an absolutely strong case for it.

This is for Boots and Joshua, and for Bok Choy and Broccoli.

I wanted to put this in, a quote attributed to Freefromharm.org (I couldn’t access the site to verify) and which came from the Mail & Guardian Online article penned by Haji Mohamed Dawjee: “It just goes to show, compassion towards all animals doesn’t have to be taught. It is only untaught.”

Amen.

Update: I changed the source of the YouTube video because it inexplicably disappeared. Bok Choy and Broccoli is up!🙂

2 Responses to “For Bok Choy and Broccoli”

  1. Kuya Joshua June 7, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    Thanks tita!😀 We’re so thankful for the support!

    • Kittymama June 7, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

      Anytime, Joshua! I am so looking forward to trying out the recipes with you and your mom.🙂

Leave a Reply

