Happiness is…Turning Wicked (xix)

24 Jan

I read Gregory Maguire’s book, Wicked, around a year after it came out in 1995. wicked 07I have read it many times since then, reveling in the revisionist look he took of L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. There’s something quite compelling in the way Maguire turned Baum’s Oz around, drawing social and political lessons on what many consider a simple and straight-up fantasy adventure.

What turned my “liking” for this novel into a full blown passion was the music of its stage play, which debuted in Broadway in 2003. I had only read reviews of the play as it transitioned over different stages over the years but Stephen Schwartz’s music and lyrics have drawn me inexplicably close to it. And so, when Wicked finally came to Asia in 2011, my husband thoughtfully booked us plane tickets to Singapore. My friend Auden purchased the show tickets on our behalf, and on February 2012, Auden, A♥ and I watched Wicked at the Marina Bay Sands Grand Theater. It was absolutely fabulous!Singapore 2-17-2012 02

Auden, me, and the Periwinkles

I still have photos from that visit to Singapore, aside from the ones I already posted previously. My favorite, however, is this one of me with the very handsome and absolutely talented David Harris, who played Fiyero in the Singapore production. *kilig moment, with apologies to my equally handsome and talented A♥*

wicked 02

This is a stolen shot of the stage at the Marina Bay Sands Grand Theater. I don’t do this as a rule- anyone who knows me knows I am such a stickler for rules- but I was too much of fan to pass it up.

wicked 03 copy

This January, Manila makes history as it hosts the Australian company of Wicked. Three of the actors of the Singapore show will reprise their roles in Manila. The roles of Elphaba and Glinda will still be played by Jemma Rix and Suzie Mathers, respectively. Dr. Dillamond’s role will still be performed by Glen Hosgstrom. Steve Danielsen, however, takes over the role of Fiyero (I will miss David Harris, sigh). Maggie Kirkpatrick will be Madame Morrible and Jay Laga’aia will be the Wizard.

The show will run from 22 January to 23 February 2014 and demand for tickets have been so high that even before production started, the show has already been extended by 16 performances. Manila loves Wicked, for sure!

wicked 05 copy

I’m really excited to watch the show tonight. I am listening to the Wicked sountrack even as I write this, but I do promise not to sing-along tonight, for politeness’ sake, heehee.  I’ve checked the seat plan of the theater so I know exactly where my husband, son, and I will be sitting. I’ve prepared their clothes and set my hair up in pink curlers. All that is left to do would be to get something green to wear to celebrate tonight’s show.

wicked 06 copy

And let me share you a secret: Kittymama, Nimes, and the Chocolate Grandparents will be sneaking in my purse for the show too. So ssshhhh… please don’t tell anyone. It’s an opportunity I wouldn’t want them to miss so they’ll be stowaways for the night. Wish us luck!

a

Leave a Reply

