Healthy Cooking for Happy Kids: A Review

27 Aug

I owe my kumareng Leirs this review. I had given her a copy of this short piece after I had come back home from Japan (and before my Dad got sick), but with all the things that have happened since then, I had been unable to attend to my blog to post this. So Mareng Leira, this comes with a lot of love and appreciation, as also my apologies. Thank you for sharing the cookbook with me. And thank you to Josh for “signing” my copy.

healthy cookingOne of the things I learned last as a married woman was cooking. Until I had children and, by necessity, had to learn to feed my family, my culinary experience was limited to a few specialty dishes that came in handy for impressing the occasional family guest. As the kids grew up and demanded a heartier-and healthier- fare than Spam and rice, I learned to work on my kitchen skills mostly by way of television cooking shows (Alton Brown was one I could easily relate too, being a geek myself). Then too, a library of cookbooks, and, later, recipes drawn from the Internet helped add to my self-acquired knowledge. Cooking was always a joy, although it was also often a hit-and-miss experience.

If there’s one cook book I hope every parent would have in his/her library, it would be Healthy Cooking for Happy Kids by Katrina Ripoll and Lara Saunders. Having read it and used it as a guide for my menu planning these past couple of weeks, I am glad to say that it is one great resource for parents on the lookout for healthy but easy ways to feed their kids. As a mother to almost-grown men (one is 21, the other, 19), there is still much the book offers even to those like me who’ve been kitchen cooks for the last two decades. The recipes are remarkably simple to prepare and follow; most do not require extraordinary ingredients but ones readily available at your local market or supermarket. And because they are simple and fuss-free, they don’t strain the household budget.

I like that the recipes are organized into sections that feature the main ingredients, but makes special the categories of breakfast and merienda, which, incidentally, is a lot of help as Filipinos are huge on great breakfast fares and snacks. The Chicken and Beef & Pork sections come very handy in spicing up our rotating menu. The chapter on Vegetables is a little thin but then again, other vegetable dishes can be found sprinkled in other sections. My favorite section would have to be Sauces and Marinades because those can be used in more ways than one can imagine and on just about anything!

Healthy Cooking for Happy Kids inspires parents like me to think outside the box when it comes to feeding our kids. Eating healthy is always a choice, and it is best we remember that our children’s choices begin with the ones we make for them.

 

Leave a Reply

