Just A Little Lovin’

29 Oct

For Y, who opened my world to Blythes and became my best friend,

for J, for being my Blythe buddy and baby sis,

And for A♥, for showering me with more love than I deserve.

I was going to blog about the Sylvanian Families Theme Park in Grinpa next but I ran into some technical problems while uploading some of my videos. That and culling a select few from over two hundred photographs have already taken much of my time, with still a lot more to go.

I decided to jump into another project to ease the ennui while I finish the pictures. I figured I needed the distraction and my blog deserved some updates. What better to write about than my second-favorite thing next to Sylvanians? Aha, Blythes! That I found this “rescue” Blythe at just the right time turned out to be most auspicious for me.

In the months since I started collecting Blythes, I’ve acquired almost all of them in MIB (mint in box) condition. My blond Kenner, adopted from my best friend Y, was the sole exception. As a personal preference, I really do look for complete, boxed dolls more than ones that are nude, loose, or incomplete. Call it an obsessive-compulsive streak, but something about incomplete dolls keeps me awake at night, heehee.

And then came the turnaround.

I ran into this particular doll in Facebook, a Velvet Minuet with dress and nothing else, and it surprised me that I had jumped the gun on everyone else that morning. After a few discreet inquiries with the seller, I sealed the deal and crossed my fingers. Below is her original photo on Facebook:

VM 01

 

I received Velvet wrapped carefully in layers of plastic bubble wrap. True to the seller’s word, her eye mechanism was working. There were no visible scratches on her face (except for one thin sliver of gray near her left eye), no missing hair plugs, and her pull ring was intact. Save for overall grubbiness, perhaps brought about by age and years of neglect (seller was not the owner), Velvet seemed fine on the whole.

VM 02

Of course, her legs came with this moldy stain, and I already knew that jumping in.

VM 03

Her dress was also stained and grubby, poor girl. It was also missing those cute puffy pompoms.

VM 05

Her hair, while thick and complete, was tangled and icky-sticky. I couldn’t run a comb through it, no matter how many hours of Law and Order I watched. (For those of you who do not know me, I do my “hairdressing” while watching reruns of Law and Order, no particular season, country, or franchise. I love them all!)

VM 04After a thorough assessment of her condition, I began my makeover process, starting with a complete body wash. I used a light baby wash and a face towel to rub over the dirt and grime. I also applied a Benzoyl Peroxide mask in parts of her body where the dirt would not wash off.

I gave her a shampoo and hot water spa last, taking care to protect her eyes and the hole at the back of her head. After a couple of days of work, this is what she looks like now:

Presenting… Velvet Minuet (Gee, her hair smells-and looks- terrific!)

VM 06

Hello, everyone! I am a brand-new girl!

VM 11

I am gorgeous!

VM 08

Lucky, my momma has my stock clothes in storage, and she gave me these to wear!

VM 09

I think Velvet is a beautiful girl, proof that there is no such thing as an ugly Blythe, only an unloved one. And when you come into one who needs loving as badly as she did, how can one ever say No?

As much as boxed and MIB Blythes are easy to love because they are perfect, there is satisfaction and pride in making a Blythe beautiful again. I like that I did this with my own two hands. I hope to one day try my hand on customizing, but for now, cleaning them back to their shiny selves is happy work for me. Velvet will surely be one of my favorite girls from now on. All she really needed was just a little loving.🙂

4 Responses to “Just A Little Lovin’”

  1. Jasmine N. Ong October 30, 2014 at 12:02 am #

    You could make a career out of restoring dolls! Amazing job!

    • Kittymama November 11, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

      Thanks, Jasmine! I am learning a bit each day and I hope to get better at this very soon.🙂

  2. Just A Friend October 30, 2014 at 11:59 am #

    She is so pretty!🙂

    • Kittymama November 11, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

