To Anthony

20 Sep

I woke up this morning giggling myself silly. For some strange reason, I awakened at five in the morning, still laughing about the last thing we said to each other last night. The barely-there light, filtered softly through dark curtains, was urging me to stand up and start our day early but the bed was still warm and inviting. I reached out in the darkness to touch your face. You stirred gently in your sleep, eyes still closed, but your hand found mine and drew it to your chest.

In one seemingly innocent movement, one we’ve done over and over again for many years, you reminded me that wherever we may be, for as long as you are with me, I am home.

For you are my home.

A few minutes later, you woke up too. Our bodies are now so in sync that a movement from one instinctively sets off a corresponding reaction in the other. You pulled me closer for an embrace; I closed my eyes and wrapped my arms around you. And then, awake and already hungry, you spent the next twenty minutes talking me into getting breakfast. At six in the morning. *groans*

We were among the first in the restaurant, thanks to our early start. Most days, breakfast would be part of our ordinary routine but today, well, today is different. It’s our 24th wedding anniversary, and each meal, no matter how simple it is, feels like a celebration.

Over breakfast, I found myself sneaking glances at you repeatedly. I looked at every line, every mark of your face, and marveled how each is a measure of our life together. Alas, we have grown old, honey. But we have grown together, forever changed from the young innocents we were at fourteen to the middle-aged adults we are now.

I am grateful, honey, for each day of the last 24 years. For while many things have changed, so many more have stayed the same. I wake up each morning with you by my side, still holding my hand throughout the night, keeping the bad dreams at bay. Yours is the face that wakes me up each day and sees me to dreamland each night. And your love- for me and our children- is the constant that drives me to see the beauty and mercy of each passing moment. I am forever changed by your love.

Thank you, Anthony, for being my love, my comfort, my home. I love you.

 Papa and Mama 02

 

4 Responses to “To Anthony”

  1. Boots September 20, 2015 at 9:49 pm #

    I love how you still can act as lovebirds after all these years.

    • Kittymama September 21, 2015 at 10:48 am #

      Thank you, Boots! Our son shakes his head when we do, heehee. But life is too short to hold back on love so we do it anyway.🙂

  2. Bambi Locsin. September 20, 2015 at 10:35 pm #

    Counting myself lucky and privileged to occupy a front-row seat (well, almost) to your honest-to-goodness, “kilig to the bones,” journey of love that is so genuine, so pure. Happy anniversary!

    • Kittymama September 21, 2015 at 10:45 am #

      Thank you for your kind words, Bambi! Anthony and I are blessed to have good friends like you who inspire us to love and be kind always. We love you.🙂

Leave a Reply

