Thanksgiving

1 Dec

This post is a little late for Thanksgiving, but then again, each moment with good friends is a moment for gratitude and  appreciation.

quipple846Last Thursday was the first time in 30 years that my own “band of brothers”- A♥, JD, and JI- was complete. In the three decades since we left high school, we have not had the chance to get together again as a group. We had seen each other on separate occasions, though these meetings were very few and far between. The last time I saw JD, it was at my father’s funeral last year. He had come to comfort A♥ and me at a time when we were both reeling from our loss. The last time I saw JI, it was in August of this year, when he and his wife graciously opened their Dallas home to A♥ and me. Yes, thirty years have stretched our ties and pulled us all in different directions.

I looked at the men before me and tried to remember the young boys they were in high school. I know A♥ the longest, having met him in debate team in the latter half of freshman year. JI and I became fast friends when we became classmates the following year. The three of us- JI, A♥, and me- became classmates with JD in junior year. Soon after, our little gang of friends was born.

ajj copy
Back in high school, JD was the quiet one, but beneath his baby-faced looks, he was always sensible and smart. He helped temper my brashness and impulsivity with sound advice. JI was funny, carefree and adventurous, but he was also highly protective of his friends. He would make sure I was right behind him when we crossed streets, reminding me so often to look both ways. A♥ was my counterpart in nonstop chatter. We both liked the same books and music so we always had much to discuss. Out of kindness, however, he would always let me talk more. These three boys were my lifelines then. We were were all fiercely loyal to each other.

As I looked at each of their faces that night, it struck me how we have all been changed in so many ways. Now in our middle years, we all tread different paths and circumstances. Our lives are bigger than just our dreams now. We have beloved spouses and children, work and responsibilities, extended families and communities. But even just for several hours that night, I remembered how it was to be surrounded by my closest friends and feel secure in their friendship.  And just like in high school many years ago, we reached out to each other in genuine acceptance and cast anew bonds that hold us together not only as friends but as chosen kin.

It dawned on me then how apt, how fitting, nay, how right it was that we got together on a date that was celebrated as Thanksgiving, for truly, such a moment was what Thanksgiving was all about.

 

Leave a Reply

