Prescription: Getaway

20 Feb
guam-2017-03

Riding the free T Galleria shuttle

I had the chance to finally break out of house the weekend leading to Valentine’s day after almost two months of bed rest and forced “quarantine.” Which was just the perfect time, as my cough was almost gone, save for an occasional tickle in my throat, and I’ve been weaned off daily nebulizations by then. Traveling light, I had to choose between carrying my portable nebulizer or a doll, and I ended up chucking the nebulizer for two Blythe dolls! It felt great!

Where did we go, you ask? I had visions of sun and sand before we left, but Guam, which was our destination that weekend, pulled a few surprises on us. Sure, there were plenty of blue skies, warm sun, and gorgeous sand, but there was also rain, and not just mild drizzle, mind you. The weather was surprisingly fickle that weekend, flipping hot and cold at all hours of the day. Good thing I was and always have been more of a precipitate kind of person, so I enjoyed the weekend, sun and rain and all. Besides, Guam was simply too beautiful to hold any grudges, and what started out as a whimsical trip where almost everything went wrong (a story for another day) ended up as being one of the most relaxing days of my life.

guam-2017-01

The view from our room

We didn’t have a fixed itinerary so we wandered when we felt like it, slept when we were exhausted, and explored just a bit. We were happy with the hotel booking we got; we felt even happier that the back of our hotel was beachfront property so we had ample access to the sea and salty air. There was a little time to explore the shops (DFS Galleria, Micronesia, Guam Outlets, and K-mart!) and watch at the cinemas of the Micronesia Mall. Everywhere we went, we were met by Filipino-Americans who still speak the language, welcoming us with their special brand of island hospitality. We came to unwind, and that was what we did.

We all need that quick getaway now and then, and precious time with A♥ was exactly the answer to my cabin fever. Moreover, I felt rejuvenated and relaxed after a few days, just like the doctors ordered. Alas, I just wish I took more pictures!

Leave a Reply

