Sylvanian Anniversary Surprises

This years marks the silver anniversary of Sylvanian Families ((シルバニアファミリー, Shirubania famirii) and it is expected that collectors all over all the world would soon be splurging on new anniversary releases by midyear, if not sooner. It was P-angel, one of my blog friends, who gave us the heads up on these collectors’ editions, found at angel smile’s eBay site (look for shop.ebay.com/angel_smile_818).

Britain and Brazil

SF Countries: Russia and China

SF Countries: US and Spain

 Apparently, and I am speaking as a newbie collector, these limited edition items are a repeat of a 2000 release of SF World Parade critters in various national costumes. You can see them in Beverly’s Sylvanian Village as she has one of the most comprehensive and most enviable collections of Sylvanian Families ever. China and Spain have already been done in the 200o release, albeit with different costumes. These come at a hefty price, around US$33.50 for each set, but I bet the price will go down once the items are released in larger quantities.

This anniversary year will not only be marked by special releases of figures but also of new houses, a new hotel, playsets, and even costumes. The rumor mill is also rife with stories of another Sylvanian Family Party in the country around midyear; I am hoping that Ban Kee gets into the anniversary spirit and plans for this push through. And while we’re asking, how about a local exhibit, much like those seen abroad? C’mon, Ban Kee, this would be fabulous for collectors and noncollectors alike.  Harbour City and Causeway Bay in Hong Kong hosted these exhibits from March 22 to April 11 of this year. If you want to see a glimpse of the Harbour City exhibit, visit this flickr account by satsumabug– she has really cute photos of the event.

With so many items to choose from this anniversary year, it’ll be hard to decide which are must-haves and which can wait. Of course, one’s purchasing power dictates one’s collection and SFs are generally expensive (though they are trying to remedy this by coming out with less expensive sets). However, if the Sylvanian Families’ 25 years in the fickle toy  business is a measure of its staying power, I am sure that cost aside, it will remain a sure hit for years to come.

8 thoughts on “Sylvanian Anniversary Surprises

    • I love the British Royal Guard too (he’s a West Highland Terrier). His is perhaps the most distinctive of the costumes. And the cowboy is soo cute- makes me wish I had the 2000 North American Indian; they make a lovely pair!

  1. Hey Kitty-kat!

    I didn’t know that these were re-productions until you mentioned it, so thank you! I hope the price lowers, I really want to buy them. I love novelty things too much, haha.

    You know what would be fun? If we became pen pals! Nothing beats sending letters ^.^

    • Pen pals? I’m game! How do we start this?

      I love these figures too, so much that I am asking a friend to look for these in Japan and Singapore for me. If I get feedback on prices, I’d let you know. I only wish I had started collecting much, much earlier. These World Parade critters are too cute to resist!

      • I know. I wish I’d started collecting earlier too, but I feel like I can appreciate them more now I’m that little bit older 🙂

        If you’d like, we can both e-mail each other our addresses? I’m happy to send the first letter / parcel. Is there anything you’d like me to send from England that you can’t get over there?

  2. P-Angel, right now, I can’t think of any, thank you, but I would love to get a letter from you. I’ll send my email add and home address to you over at the SF Forum via private message and you can send me yours there. 🙂

Leave a comment