Hard Habit to Break

I was at Sanrio Surprises at MegaMall last weekend, drooling at a very nice, if expensive, teeny weeny purse. There were so many nice things on display that my head was set on “SPIN” the entire time. (I was going to put in a picture of Linda Blair’s head turning 360º on her shoulders but I figured I’d be the one having nightmares later on.) My budget was shot after buying Christmas presents from the Toy Kingdom sale but I did bring home a couple of great stuff- a Hello Kitty Christmas diorama (on sale! how lucky!)  and a Hello Kitty diecut wristpad. I wish I could have spent more. I wish I could have brought home that purse I was ogling at. But, alas, with the holidays coming up, the List comes first before my own wants. 

I used to be a complusive Kittyholic. I emphasize the words used to be, because I hope I am not that way anymore. For years and years, I I hoarded almost everything I could lay my hands on, splurging on things that caught my fancy even without much thought. I even spent my the better part of my birthdays inside Gift Gate! Below is a picture taken just this year on my birthday; my birthday “date” for the last five or six years has been my friend Ms. Jo Pantaleon of  Gift Gate/Sanrio Surprises.

Controlling my Kitty impulses hasn’t all been that easy. With age comes wisdom, or so I’ve always hoped. As I grow older, I have become more discriminating with the Hello Kitties I collect. These days, I no longer feel the nagging pressure of having to own everything stamped Hello Kitty; I can look at one and appreciate it without buying. That’s how much my sense of shopping has matured in the past year.

It’s always a compromise- my desire for Hello kitty and the “functionality” and “usability” of these things in my life. The things I like looking at are often not things that function well with my life so even as I desire them, I  must always go through a mental checklist to weigh the costs of ownership.

  1. Can I use it?
  2. Wll I use it often?
  3. Do I have a place for it? 
  4. Can I afford it?

If I answer YES to all, then the purchase is almost always guaranteed. Even just one NO changes the balance of the entire thing.

If  there are things I’ve given myself permission to own, however, it would be Hello Kitty clothing and shoes. Who doesn’t need shoes and clothing? And since I need them more as my body shape vacillates, this particular form of Kittymania is perfectly reasonable and absolutely excusable. 

My husband got these for me recently at Torrid, haven for the plus-size Kittyholic. Our local Sanrio stores carry only regular sizes so I am hardpressed to find anything in my size. Fortunately, there’s Torrid to fill in the need. 🙂 I do have to thank my sister’s husband’s brother for carrying these home for me on his recent trip to the US to visit their mother. Thank you, John and Alexis! This Kitty momma ♥ you to bits!

I love all these shirts but I love this one most especially- ooohhhhh! Hello Kitty….Zombie!

I wish I had this on last Halloween, haha. It would have made a great conversation piece. Then again, my HK “Jamaican Me Crazy” shirt was a hit so it worked out for the best. 🙂

I knew these were coming so I had been waiting for them. But A never lets me off without a surprise so guess how the shirts came home?

In this cutest bag ever!

Whatever restraint I mustered has worn off with this absolutely divine gift! I am gushing with cuteness! Ahhh, HK Shirts, shoes, bags and purses- I’m a sucker for them. Guess this habit is much harder to break than I thought.

8 thoughts on “Hard Habit to Break

  1. ” 1. Can I use it?
    2. Wll I use it often?
    3. Do I have a place for it?
    4. Can I afford it?”

    Oh we use the same criteria to decide whether or not to buy a kitty item! ANother factor for me is if it will stand the test of time so that I can pass it on to my daughter in a few years 🙂

  2. hello oka i just wanted to say do you know were they get the sylvanian families big costumes like the bunny cause i really would love to have one????

Leave a comment